Newbie question pertaining to API and Cloud Notes

Custom indicators, trading strategies, data export and recording and more...
dmavro

Newbie question pertaining to API and Cloud Notes

Post by dmavro » Tue Jan 12, 2021 1:18 am

Hey guys,
Ive been using Bookmap for a few months now and have been using Local Cloud Notes since the end of the first week. Problem is I have to manually add horizontal lines each day at all the prices my notes are at. My goal is to create an addon that can read the local CSV file and add the lines automatically. Even better would be to add rays that would have starting points that are predefined by my indicator that creates my CSV file.
I was wondering if there was anything in the API examples that would be a good starting point? I currently have very limited experience with Java but am able to write OOEL based code in Tradestation so im hoping that will help me move forward with Java coding. One last thing, I use Tradestation to create the CSV file and am not sure if there would be a better way to get the information from Tradestation into Bookmap via the API. Im open to any solution but simplicity might be the best way for me now considering my aforementioned experience with Java.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you,
Dean

Andry API support

Re: Newbie question pertaining to API and Cloud Notes

Post by Andry API support » Tue Jan 12, 2021 9:44 am

hi dmavro,

Do you need horizontal geometrical rays (lines that start and never end, hope I got you right)?

If yes, you can develop a module that will draw those for you. A good starting point is a Bookmap API Tutorial. What you need is everything from the start to (including) "Hello Bookmap addon in 2 minutes". You will learn how to start a project and to make a simple custom module.

Your task may be divided in two:
1) read a CSV file